Underage DWI Defense Attorney in Winston-Salem, NC
North Carolina has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. Drivers under the age of 21 are prohibited from having any amount of alcohol or controlled substance in the body while driving, unless the substance was lawfully obtained and taken in prescribed amounts. If you or your child has been charged with underage DWI/driving after consuming under the age of 21, call Wood & Rabil, LLP in Winston-Salem, NC. Our DWI defense attorneys have extensive experience representing underage clients who were accused of driving drunk or under the influence of drugs such as marijuana. We will fight aggressively to keep you out of jail and minimize the consequences as much as possible.
Committed to Excellence
Driving After Consuming Under Age 21: Laws & Penalties
In North Carolina, underage DWI is commonly referred to as “driving after consuming under age 21”. It is a separate charge from a standard DWI, and it is possible to be charged with both DWI and driving after consuming under age 21 for the same incident.
Underage DWI is charged as a class 2 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of 60 days and a fine up to $1,000. In cases when the offender has no prior criminal record, judges will often opt to place the underage offender on probation rather than to impose a jail sentence. When this happens, the offender will likely be required to complete a drug and alcohol assessment with the recommended treatment and perform community service for a certain number of hours.
A conviction will also lead to 1 year license suspension. Offenders who are over the age of 18 and have no prior DWI convictions may request limited driving privileges.
Get Professional Legal Help Today; Request a Consultation with a DWI Attorney
Don’t let an underage DWI conviction ruin your future; get the guidance and representation you need by consulting with a DWI defense attorney at Wood & Rabil, LLP. Call (336) 722-5700 or fill out our online contact form below to get started.