2nd & 3rd Time DWI Attorney in Winston-Salem, NC
In North Carolina, DWI (driving while impaired) charges are divided into 5 levels, with Level 1 being most serious and Level 5 being least serious. Offenders who have past DWI convictions on their record receive a higher level charge for committing DWI again. North Carolina is known for being extremely strict and hard on DWI offenders. The penalties for getting a second or third conviction are severe and life-changing. If you want to minimize the consequences, partner with a DWI attorney at B. Jeffrey Wood, Attorney at Law in Winston-Salem, NC. Our attorneys have decades of experience successfully representing clients accused of their 2nd and 3rd DWI to help them avoid jail time and extensive license revocation.
Committed to Excellence
The Penalties for Your 2nd & 3rd DWI in North Carolina
2nd DWI: If you are being convicted of your 2nd DWI within a 3-year period, you will lose your license for 4 years. You may petition the court for limited driving privileges so that you can get to work and drive for absolute necessities, but if you are sentenced at Level 1 or 2, this option is not available. 2nd-time offenders also must install an ignition interlock device prior to having their licenses reinstated. Most 2nd-time offenses are sentenced at Levels 3, 2, or 1.
3rd DWI: Anyone who receives their 3rd DWI conviction will have their license revoked permanently. After 5 years, they may petition the court to reinstate their license, though they will most likely be required to install an ignition interlock device. If the second prior conviction occurred within the last 7 years, the offender will receive a Level 2 charge at least. If both prior convictions occurred within the last 7 years, the offender would receive a Level 1 charge.
Jail Sentencing and Fines:
Level 3: 72 hours to 6 months and up to $1,000 fine
Level 2: Seven days to 1 year and up to $2,000 fine
Level 1: 30 days to 2 years and up to $4,000 fine
Get Dependable Legal Guidance and Representation Today: Call Wood & Rabil, LLP Attorneys at Law
If you have been arrested for DWI and have prior DWI convictions within the last 7 years, it’s essential that you hire a qualified DWI lawyer for your case. Your future is at stake. We are here to explain your situation, fight for your rights, and help you get the best outcome possible. Call (336) 722-5700 or fill out our online contact form below to get started.